020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Residential property transfer of equity

FIND OUT MORE

If you are looking to alter the ownership of a residential property to either remove a person or add a person to the registered title then you will require a transfer of equity service. If you have a mortgage then the lender’s consent is required unless remortgaging at the same time as the transfer. We assist many clients in transferring their property and you should consider whether the transaction will give rise to Capital Gains Tax or Stamp Duty Land Tax

Why or when would someone need this service?

There may be a number of reasons for wanting to transfer equity, for instance in order to add another person to the title of a property or perhaps to release some funds from the property. Other common circumstances where we are instructed to act on a transfer of equity occurs on marriage, divorce or death.

How does the process work? What are the steps?

Where there is no mortgage on the property, the process is relatively simple. Once agreement is reached between all the parties, we will issue an application to the Land Registry to register the change. We will then send you a copy of the new title following the Land Registry completing the change.

Where there is a mortgage the lenders consent must first be obtained prior to their being a transfer of equity unless you are re-mortgaging.

How long does it take?

Where the parties are in agreement, the process can be completed fairly quickly, usually within two weeks, provided that all the necessary documents and consents are in place.

There are however some occasions where the process will take longer. For instance if any of the parties are in dispute regarding any part of the process especially if separate representation is required, a new mortgage is being obtained, or consent from the existing mortgage provider is required.

If the transfer of equity is part of a divorce settlement, a court order is often required in order to complete the process. Again in this situation the process will take a little longer to complete, as we will be dependent on the courts own time table.

Is it expensive? How do the costs work?

We offer a fixed fee for this service (subject to our Terms & Conditions). We will inform you, up front, what the total cost will be throughout the entire process. Please telephone us for a no obligation quotation or send us an email: [email protected]    

What are the things people should consider before calling?

We will need to know the reason why a transfer of equity is being sought. This is to ensure that the proposed transfer of equity is actually what is required or whether there may be other alternatives available which you may wish to consider. We will also need to consider with you at an early stage whether any tax, such as capital gains tax or stamp duty, will be payable.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

We will provide you with a complete service. In addition to completing the transfer of equity on your behalf we will also consider with you at the outset the possible tax implications involved and whether there may exist alternative arrangements which may not have previously been considered. By discussing such issues we hope to provide you with all relevant information in order that you can make an informed decision.

Try Our Quote Calculator

 

Meet the Residential property transfer of equity team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Ruggero Pesciatini
Ruggero Pesciatini
Corporate and Commercial
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054220
ruggero.pesciatini@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk