020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Role of the bankrupt individual

FIND OUT MORE

Whether a person is made bankrupt by their own petition or by the petition of one of their creditors, the procedure and effects of the bankruptcy order is the same. This section assesses the duties of the bankrupt and what they must and must not do.

Whether a person is made bankrupt by their own petition or by the petition of one of their creditors, the procedure and effects of the bankruptcy order is the same. This section assesses the duties of the bankrupt and what they must and must not do.

When a bankruptcy order has been made, the bankrupt must:

  • Make their estate available to the Official Receiver or trustee in bankruptcy
  • Provide an inventory of their estate and other information as required, usually by completing a questionnaire and/or attending an interview with the Official Receiver or trustee.
  • Deliver all documents and records relating to the estate to the Official Receiver or trustee

If the bankrupt does not comply

There are a number of bankruptcy offences which may be committed by a bankrupt either before or after the commencement of the bankruptcy. The more serious offences carry a maximum term of imprisonment of 7 years and an unlimited fine.

Bankruptcy offences include:

  • Failure to disclose all of the property comprised in the estate;
  • Failure to deliver property, books, papers and records to the Official Receiver or trustee;
  • Falsifying documents or records;
  • Making false statements;
  • Fraudulently disposing of property;
  • Absconding with property;
  • Obtaining credit in excess of £500 without disclosing that they are bankrupt;
  • Engaging in business under a business name used prior to the bankruptcy.

If the bankrupt does not do as required, the trustee can:

  • Obtain an injunction against the bankrupt or third parties in possession of assets of the estate;
  • Obtain an injunction requiring a third party to disclose information relating to the bankrupt’s affairs;
  • The court may issue a warrant of arrest and/or seizure of any books, papers or records;
  • The court may execute documents on behalf of the bankrupt to transfer property;
  • The trustee may apply to the court for directions to require the bankrupt to do such things as are necessary to assist with the administration of the bankruptcy;
  • The bankrupt may be required to appear before the court to answer questions;
  • The Official Receiver may apply to the court for an order suspending the bankrupt’s automatic discharge, meaning that the bankrupt will not be discharged from bankruptcy on the usual one year anniversary and will continue to be subject to the more strict restrictions against them;
  • The Official Receiver or trustee may even apply for an order for the re-direction of the bankrupt’s incoming post for a period not exceeding 3 months.

The Official Receiver or trustee has wide powers in connection with the administration of the bankrupt’s estate and failure to comply with them can have serious consequences for a bankrupt. For more information, please email litigation@grantsaw.co.uk or contact our insolvency experts on 020 8858 6971.

Meet the Role of the bankrupt individual team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Warren
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk