020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Purchase sites for development

FIND OUT MORE

If you are interested in purchasing a site or property for development, we assist clients with deciding which type of contract is the most appropriate. We deal with conditional contracts subject to planning and unconditional contracts. Option Agreements and Overage arrangements. We explain the differences and guide you to deciding which is the most appropriate contract. We also deal with planning agreements such as Section 106.

Why or When would someone need this service?

If you are a property developer and looking to buy a site for development. This may include a residential property which you are intending to demolish and build on the land. 

How does this process work? What are the steps?

When buying a site for development there are a number of considerations:

Covenants:  are there any restrictions on building on the land or intensifying the number of buildings?

Easements: does the land benefit from the right of access to it when intensifying its use?

Is a scaffold licence required?

What utilities are available for connection?

When you instruct us we investigate the title and where possible carry out a site inspection and instruct commercial utility searches. We provide you with a comprehensive report on the title including issues in respect of covenants and easements. We provide you with a report on the searches.

If you are purchasing with the benefit of planning permission then we advise you on the requirements for the benefit of the planning permission to be passed to you.

The contract can be:

Conditional: for example you will only purchase the land if planning permission is granted and once granted the contract becomes unconditional

Unconditional: no conditions and a fixed completion date can be agreed

Option Agreement: you have an option to purchase the  property/land once planning has been granted. You do not have to exercise the Option if planning is granted

The contract can include an overage payment which is a requirement to pay to the seller an additional amount of money sometime in the future   

Finance: If you are seeking commercial finance then we can act for you and your lender will usually instruct their own solicitors.

How long does it take?

We usually arrange a site visit and instruct searches and review the documents within a week from receipt of instructions. These transactions usually require speed and efficiency and most are exchanged within four weeks from receipt of instructions.   

Is it expensive? How does the cost work?

We shall provide you with a fixed fee quote which will be subject to our terms and conditions. Each transaction is different and we shall provide you with a competitive quote.

What are the things people should consider before calling?

Financing the transaction and obtain accurate forecasts for the new build plots that are intended to be built

Planning process and how long it will take to obtain planning and whether a Section 106 Agreement or similar agreement will be required by the Local Authority.

Profitability of the transaction when taking into account the Community Infrastructure Levy, Section 106 Agreement payments/restrictions, costs for obtaining planning permission and any other associated costs.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

Maria Lati has many years’ experience in acting for property developers buying land for development and identifying the legal issues and finding solutions to enable the development to proceed.

Meet the Purchase sites for development team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk