020 8858 6971 contact us work for us Online Payment

General guidance on sale and purchase

FIND OUT MORE

We have set out below some general guidance for people looking to buy or sell their homes. To us client satisfaction and providing a quality service is of paramount importance. We apply a practical solution based approach to any problems that may arise during a transaction. The conveyancing team at Grant Saw are experienced property lawyers not just conveyancers.

Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS)

Grant Saw are members of the Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS) which provides a recognised quality standard for residential conveyancing practices. Membership achievement establishes a level of credibility for member firms with others that we work with as part of the conveyancing process such as clients, lenders, insurers and estate agents.

Key features of CQS are:

  • The integrity of the Senior Responsible Officer and other key conveyancing staff
  • The firm’s adherence to good practice management standards
  • Adherence to prudent and efficient conveyancing procedures through the scheme protocol

How long does a conveyancing transaction take?

In the case of freehold property the timescale to exchange of contracts is generally between four to six weeks from the date we receive appropriate documentation.

For leasehold property, the timescale is normally between six to eight weeks to exchange of contracts from our receipt of documentation. Additional time in leasehold purchases is required due to the need to inspect the lease and to correspond with the freeholder regarding matters such as service charge issues and the general management of flats.

Delays can sometimes occur. Common examples of delay arise, for instance where specific issues are discovered in relation to the property or building regulations prevent proposed renovation plans from proceeding or where problems occur obtaining a mortgage. It is for this reason that the timescales suggested above are provided only as a guidance and are of course variable.

We suggest a minimum two week period between exchange of contracts and completion of the sale or purchase of the property to allow us to complete the legalities and for you to arrange for furniture removals. The completion date must occur between Monday to Friday and the property must be vacated by noon on the agreed date.

We do offer a premium quick turnaround service but for this to work effectively it requires the co-operation of all parties involved in a chain.

We also specialise in auction sales and purchases. Time frames are dependent on the date of the auction sale and the completion date specified in the auction contract.

Estate Agents

The agency will be acting on behalf of the seller who pays their fees. Grant Saw are pleased to offer advice, and assistance in relation to the estate agents contract, if required.

Whether you are a buyer, a seller or both, a good rule of thumb is to never enter into any type of agreement with the other party without first consulting your solicitor. In the event that an agreement is already in existence, you must ensure your solicitor is aware of this. If any deposit has been paid to an estate agency, please obtain a receipt from them and inform your solicitor of this fact.

It is usual to pay a reservation fee to the estate agent for new build properties and this is often non-refundable if exchange of contracts does not take place within the specified time frame.

Fixtures and Fittings

You should advise us what fixtures, fittings and other extras, if any, are being left in the property. If you are selling a property, you should be aware that if you remove items fixed to walls or floors, you are responsible for repairing any damage this may cause. In the absence of specifying any particular fixtures and fittings, it is assumed that included within the sale, will be all items that are fixed (or secured) in or outside the property.

Prior to the sale of your property you will need to complete a ‘Fittings & Contents’ form and in addition provide us with an inventory of any items you are selling, and the agreed price for each one. 

You will also need to complete a ‘Property Information’ form and ‘Leasehold Information’ form if the property is leasehold.

If you are buying a property, the seller will complete the forms mentioned above. Please also ensure that we are informed of any private agreement reached regarding fittings and contents and any other matters between you and the seller.

Before Exchange of Contracts

Prior to contracts being exchanged neither the buyer or seller will be legally bound to complete the transaction and withdrawing from the sale or purchase is still possible. If expenses such as survey or legal fees have been incurred, then these cannot be recovered from the other party.

Once the contract has been exchanged then the transaction will become legally binding. A failure to complete the purchase or sale will amount to a breach of contract.

If you are buying a property, we will need to know if you are obtaining a mortgage. If you are we will need to receive the mortgage funds in good time to complete the purchase on the date agreed.

If you are selling a property we will normally be responsible for the discharge of any mortgage secured against the property.

It is always advisable to have a survey carried out on any property you are seriously considering buying. If you are buying a property and require a mortgage then most mortgage companies now offer two types of survey. Either a ‘Homebuyer’s Report’ or a full structural survey report. The most suitable option will be dependent upon the age and condition of the property you are buying.

Exchange of Contracts

Once buyer, seller and their respective solicitors have reached agreement over the purchase and sale of the property (and the completion date has been agreed), contracts can then be exchanged. The buyer’s solicitor will send the signed contract and deposit to the seller’s solicitor. The seller’s solicitor will then send the seller’s signed contract to the buyer’s solicitor.

Before Completion

We will provide you with an account and a statement of fees and expenses. This will include our fees. Furthermore, any documents not already signed will need to be signed.

Prior to completion you should make arrangements for furniture removals. You will also need to arrange for utility services to be continued if you are buying, or for final meter readings to be taken and forwarding addresses to be provided to the utility companies if you are selling.

Completion

The legal completion of the process requires neither the buyer or seller to be present at their solicitor’s offices. The purchase money is paid to the seller’s solicitors by the buyer’s solicitors and the keys will be given to the buyer either by the seller directly or the estate agent depending upon what is agreed. Transfer of monies must be via the respective solicitors.

Our aim is to deal with all matters efficiently and professionally and to guide you through the process as promptly and with the least amount of stress as possible.

Extending Your Home

Please click here to view the Royal Borough of Greenwich’s guide on extending your home.

EWS1: Law Society guidance for flat buyers

The Law Society has published Building safety for flat buyers, which explains the current issues around building safety that a buyer of a flat should consider. The guidance includes an explanation of when an EWS1 form is required, and discusses the conflicting stances taken by the Government and the RICS.

 

Try Our Quote Calculator

Meet the General guidance on sale and purchase team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
michael.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Mandy
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.mandy@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Ruggero Pesciatini
Ruggero Pesciatini
Corporate and Commercial
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054220
ruggero.pesciatini@grantsaw.co.uk
Saad Hameed
Residential Property
Trainee Solicitor
greenwich
02083053528
saad.hameed@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk