020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Deputyship orders and court of protection work

FIND OUT MORE

An application to the Court of Protection may be necessary if an individual lacks capacity to make decisions concerning their own health, wealth or personal welfare.

The Court of Protection is entitled (if deemed appropriate) to make decisions concerning the person who lacks capacity and/or to appoint a Deputy to make ongoing decisions concerning their affairs.

Sometimes it is appropriate for more than one person to be appointed as a deputy and there are several options for how this can work.

If someone has capacity to make their own decisions, but wishes to appoint another person to make decisions on their behalf, then the appropriate application would be a Lasting Power of Attorney.

How does the process work/what are the steps?

If the application relates to making decisions about someone’s health and personal welfare, then prior to making an application, the court’s permission to apply will need to be obtained. There is no such requirement if the application concerns making decisions about property and financial matters.

We need to meet you in order to complete the relevant forms and to gather the appropriate information as to the individual’s circumstances and their need to make an application to the Court of Protection.

The application is then made to the Court and various notices need to be served before the order is granted. Strict time frames also need to be abided by, which we can guide you through.

Typically a bond needs to be arranged to protect the financial resources of the person lacking capacity. Again, we can help you through this and ensure all the correct formalities have been attended to.

How long does it take?

The process would normally take between four to six months to complete. This time is required so that the court can comply with the statutory notice requirements.

We can lodge an application promptly on your behalf once we have received all relevant information/documentation from you. If the matter is urgent, there are procedures available to obtain a quick decision from the Court of Protection.

Is it expensive? How do the costs work?

We offer a set fee for standard Deputyship Order. Please contact us for a quotation.

In addition to our fees there are court fees payable. The application fee is £365. If the court requires a hearing there is an additional fee of £485 payable.

What if my application is opposed/ disputed?

We have specialist lawyers that can guide you through the process and deal with any Court applications and hearings that are necessary.  We have extensive experience in dealing with the Court of Protection and the Office of the Public Guardian.

What are the things people should consider before calling?

We would need information relating to the person to whom the application concerns. In particular, what evidence is there that the individual currently lacks capacity to make their own decisions. As part of the application, a medical professional will need to complete an assessment form to prove that capacity has been lost. It would therefore save time if this had been discussed in advance with them.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

We are the largest Private Client department in the local area and have five dedicated specialists in the team. As a department, we pride ourselves on providing excellent client service, with a friendly and approachable manner and we are frequently instructed by new clients based on recommendations received from our existing clients. We also hold the Law society accreditation for excellence in Wills and Probate, known as WIQS (Wills and Inheritance Quality Scheme), as well as having a member of Solicitors for the Elderly and an associate member of STEP. These are all demonstrative of the expertise and dedication our lawyers have in making sure our clients receive the best advice possible.

We also have full disabled access at our Greenwich and Blackheath offices.

Solicitor Firm of the Year

Meet the Deputyship orders and court of protection work team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Warren
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk