020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Domestic violence

FIND OUT MORE

Grant Saw is able to offer help and assistance to anyone who is in a relationship and who is suffering violence or is accused of causing violence to another in a relationship.

Why would someone need this service?

Domestic violence is an extremely sensitive issue and it can often be difficult to know where or whom to turn to to seek help. Those who are victims of domestic violence may feel scared, lack confidence and self esteem and believe the problem is their fault. They may also have fears for the safety of their children.

It is not unusual for victims of domestic violence to fear what will happen if they tell someone else about the abuse. Those accused of domestic violence may themselves feel victimised if they have not actually done what they are accused of or if the violence is from both sides. No matter what your position, Grant Saw is able to provide sensitive help to you.

How does the process work?

A family court gives domestic violence cases priority over other family disputes. This means that if the violence is against you, we will be able to request a prompt Court hearing in order to obtain necessary Court Orders to protect you. Often a court will make an Order to provide some immediate protection.

In order to proceed you will need to file a statement (which Grant Saw will be able to prepare for you) detailing the history of what has happened and why you need the Order which you are asking for.

How long does it take?

If clients need immediate protection from serious domestic violence, there are emergency steps which Grant Saw can take to apply for Court Orders straightaway. Hearings can be arranged extremely quickly; if the violence is continuing and serious, they may be held within a day or two. If there is more time to deal with the case, there may be a week or two before the hearing.

Is it expensive? How do the costings work?

Your first consultation with us will be for a fixed fee of £100 + VAT for a face-to-face consultation of up to one hour. When we have established the level of service that is required based on your personal circumstances, we will provide you with a estimate for our acting for you from that point onwards.

The position which your partner takes and whether the application will be opposed will of course be particularly important in determining how much work is necessary in replying and therefore this will affect the level of charges.

What should people consider before calling?

To ensure that the matter proceeds as quickly as possible, clients should identify whom they would ask to provide background evidence in the case to assist them. Often, in domestic violence cases, there will be very few, if any, witnesses to the violence itself, which makes medical evidence particularly important.

Victims should make a list of the names and contact numbers of any medical professionals who have examined them during hospital visits necessitated by the violence, in order that they can provide evidence regarding the injuries sustained. Other helpful evidence may include photographs of the injuries and contact details of anyone that the victim has talked to about the violence.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

Within the Grant Saw family department, we have very experienced and sensitive lawyers who are dedicated to providing their clients with the best possible advice. Clients are able to choose whether they wish to be seen by either a male or female lawyer. We want clients to feel as comfortable as possible when discussing their individual situation, which is particularly important in cases of this type.

For more information or to discuss a specific family matter, please email [email protected] or contact the team on 020 8858 6971 today.

We are currently offering a free, initial telephone consultation. Feel free to contact us or leave your details here and a member of the team will contact you at a time that suits.

Meet the Domestic violence team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk