020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Buying your home

FIND OUT MORE

The Grant Saw conveyancing team will be delighted to act for you in your house or flat purchase. We will guide you step by step, through the entire process smoothly and promptly to completion. Buying your home is usually the most expensive undertaking that each of us will undertake in our lives. It is therefore important that you instruct a competent and experienced firm of solicitors to act for you in order to ensure that you are provided with all the relevant necessary information to enable you to make informed decisions in relation to your property.

Why would someone require this service?

To assist in the purchase of residential property, whether that be a house, flat or apartment. We act for individuals and companies buying investment property.

How does the process work?

The first step is to agree on the purchase price. The next step will be to instruct solicitors to act on your behalf. You will need to tell the estate agents which firm of solicitors you are instructing once the purchase price has been agreed. We will be delighted to act for you!

Once instructed we will correspond with the seller’s solicitors. We will ask to see certain documentation on your behalf, including the following:-

  • Property forms – this will inform us of the property’s boundaries, what warranties and guarantees will be provided and whether there are any current disputes concerning the property.
  • The HM Land Registry title documents if the property is registered or other title documents if unregistered – this is proof of the seller’s ownership of the property. It will provide details of any restrictions which affect the property. It will also provide a site plan showing the extent of the property you are buying.
  • Fixtures and contents form – this refers to what “fittings” will be included in the sale price. “Fittings” are items which are attached to the property (either inside or outside) such as shrubbery planted in the garden or a fireplace fixed to a wall.

We will also raise various enquiries regarding the property with the seller’s solicitors and report to you on all the documents we receive. In addition we will undertake relevant searches of the property and again report to you on our findings.

Upon satisfactory responses being received from our searches and enquiries and assuming there is no further investigation required, we will be in a position to proceed to preparing for exchange of contracts for the purchase of your home.

 

On exchange of contracts, the date for completion (i.e. the date you purchase your home) will be agreed with the seller’s solicitors.

Prior to exchange of contracts you can still, for whatever reason, decide not to proceed on the purchase. If you choose not to proceed then your costs will be limited to those legal costs incurred at that time as well as any other costs you may have paid in relation to the proposed purchase, such as survey fees.

Please note that once contracts are exchanged, if you fail to complete the purchase the contract will be breached and you will be liable to forfeit the deposit you paid on exchange of contracts (normally 10% of the purchase price of the property). There may well be other substantial damages payable in addition.

For further general information regarding the sale and purchase process of residential properties please see our general guidance notes.

How long is the legal process when buying a house?

On average it will take between 4 to 6 weeks to complete the purchase of freehold property. For leasehold properties the purchase will take slightly longer, normally 6 to 8 weeks.

We are able to offer a quick turnaround service if required (provided all parties agree).

Is it expensive?

We will charge a fixed fee for our service (subject to our Terms & Conditions). The fee payable will depend upon the purchase price of the property, whether the property is freehold or leasehold and whether a mortgage is being obtained. Please telephone or email us for a no obligation quotation.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

The conveyancing team at Grant Saw pride themselves on being friendly and professional. We are committed to offering a consistently excellent service to each of our clients.

Try Our Quote Calculator

Meet the Buying your home team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk