Debt Recovery

»
»
»
Debt Recovery

For debts of £100,000 or below please see our detailed guide here which sets out the procedure and timetable we will follow as well as our fixed costs in acting for you to recover payment of uncontested debts. The easiest way to instruct us is to complete this form here and send it to litigation@grantsaw.co.uk

Why (or when) someone would need this service?

To take legal advice to recover payment of a debt that is due. This firm regularly acts for individuals and companies in recovering payments of debts that are due to them.

How does the process work/what are the steps?

The first step is usually to send the debtor a letter of claim on your behalf and to require that such sum is paid within 30 days.

If the debtor fails to pay within this time period, we will discuss with you how you wish to enforce payment. This could be by either commencing court proceedings in order to obtain a Judgment from the Court. Alternatively, if the debt is not disputed it could be enforced by serving a Statutory Demand on the debtor (which will avoid the need to issue court proceedings). Please see our detailed guide here which sets out the procedure and timetable we will follow as well as our fixed costs in acting for you to recover payment of  uncontested debts.

By serving a Statutory Demand you will be commencing insolvency proceedings which may ultimately result in an Order from the Court that the debtor is declared bankrupt (if an individual) or the debtor is wound up (if a company). To avoid such a situation occurring the debtor will be required to pay the debt owing. For further information concerning serving a statutory demand on a business or company please see our separate page here: https://www.grantsaw.com/services-for-business/insolvency/statutory-demands-for-business/ or for guidance on issuing a winding up petition on a company please see our separate page here: https://www.grantsaw.com/services-for-business/insolvency/winding-up-petition/

What are the things people should consider before calling?

It would be helpful if you could provide us with a copy of the invoice rendered by you when you first instruct us.

Furthermore if the debtor has previously refused to pay and has provided an explanation for this, then please inform us of the reason for the debtor refusing to pay.

We may have to correspond with the debtor if the debt is disputed before any claim is issued.

The easiest way to instruct us is to complete this form here and send it to litigation@grantsaw.co.uk

How long does it take?

If court proceedings are issued which are uncontested, then we will be able to request that the court enter a County Court Judgment on your behalf within 14 to 28 days after the proceedings have been served on the debtor.

If the court proceedings are contested, then the normal time period by when the claim will be listed for trial is between 12 to 18 months from the issue of proceedings. However, the vast majority of cases do settle prior to trial on terms which are negotiated between the parties.

If the Statutory Demand route is taken, the debtor will have up to three weeks from service of the Demand on the individual or company to make payment of the debt. If the debt is not paid within this time frame and remains undisputed, you will be entitled to either issue bankruptcy proceedings where the debtor is an individual or a Winding Up Petition where the debtor is a company. A court hearing will be listed to consider the bankruptcy of the individual or the insolvency of the company normally within a two month period from the issue of the Petition.

Is it expensive? What are the likely costs?

Our costs of acting on your behalf to recover uncontested debts owing to you or your business of £100,000 or less, we provide a fixed fee service. Please see our detailed guide here which sets out the procedure and timetable we will follow as well as our fixed costs in acting for you to recover payment of uncontested debts We will provide you with an estimate of costs at the outset once we have been provided with details of the debt outstanding.

Debt recovery tips

  • We would suggest that prior to entering into contractual relations with a client that you do undertake some due diligence. For instance you may wish to consider obtaining company accounts to establish the financial standing of the company before agreeing to undertake work for them
  • Alternatively if your client is an individual you may wish to consider undertaking a credit search against them to check on their credit status
Meet the Debt Recovery team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Warren
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simona Morina
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053521
simona.morina@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk