020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Lease extensions

FIND OUT MORE

The Grant Saw Residential Property team will be delighted to assist home owners seeking to extend the length of their residential leases. We also act on behalf of landlords to assist them following their receipt of a request to extend the tenant’s lease.

Why would someone require this service?

To assist home owners to extend the duration of the lease on their home or investment property. Extending the lease can substantially increase the value of your property. It is advisable to extend your lease prior to the lease having less than 80 years left to run. The reason being, if there is less than 80 years left on your lease, the landlord will be entitled to seek what is known as a “marriage value” premium. This essentially means that your landlord will be entitled to ask for a higher sum to be paid as consideration for extending the length of your lease.

How does the process work/what are the steps?

In order to be eligible to extend a residential lease, the tenant must have owned the property for at least a period of 2 years and the lease originally granted must be for a period of at least 21 years (for a statutory lease extension).

The procedure involved is complex. The legal route taken to extend the lease will depend upon the tenant’s own particular circumstances. In most cases it will be advisable to obtain a formal valuation of the property from a surveyor who is experienced in providing such valuations.

The tenant will be required to serve what is called an Initial Notice on the landlord. Within this notice the tenant will be obliged to set out the price they are offering to pay for the lease extension. The landlord will then consider your offer. If it is agreed, the parties can attend to the formality of extending the lease and registering this with the Land Registry.

The landlord however is not obliged to agree the price the tenant has proposed to pay and the landlord may wish to seek a higher price.

If the parties are unable to agree on all issues relating to the proposed lease extension (including the sum payable), then the matter will ultimately be decided at the First Tier Tribunal (Property Chamber). For a more detailed explanation visit www.lease-advice.org.

Is it expensive?

Our charges vary according to the degree of complexity of the lease extension requested. Our charges will also be based on whether the parties are agreeable to extending the lease amicably or whether it is necessary to proceed with the statutory procedure which can include the First-Tier Tribunal.

In addition to the tenant paying for their own solicitors and surveyors fees, the tenant will also be responsible for paying for the landlord’s legal and surveying fees in relation to extending the lease. The tenant will not however be responsible for paying the landlord’s fees associated with an application and any subsequent hearing with the First-Tier Tribunal.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

The Grant Saw property team are experienced in successfully acting for numerous landlords and tenants in relation to lease extensions.

Furthermore, should there be disagreement between the parties, the matter can swiftly be transferred to the firm’s litigation department who will provide you with assistance at the First-Tier Tribunal).

Try Our Quote Calculator

Meet the Lease extensions team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Ruggero Pesciatini
Ruggero Pesciatini
Corporate and Commercial
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054220
ruggero.pesciatini@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk