Lasting power of attorney

»
»
»
Lasting power of attorney

Why (or when) someone would need this service?

A Lasting Power of Attorney does not restrict the right to control your affairs for as long as you are able. The appointment of an attorney means that there is someone to take over if you cannot cope. The important point to make is that they must be made whilst the donor has capacity.

If a person has already lost capacity to make decisions, then an application to the Court of Protection may be necessary. We can act as your attorneys if required and are frequently asked by clients to do so. If you do not wish to appoint us to be your attorneys, we can still prepare the documents for you.

There are two types of Lasting Power of Attorney available. The first concerns “health and welfare”. If this is obtained, it will enable the attorney to make decisions, regarding the person’s medical care and how they are looked after. This power can also allow the attorney to make decisions regarding the life sustaining treatment which the donor is to receive and can only be used if the donor has lost capacity to make decisions for themselves.

The second type of Lasting Power of Attorney concerns “property and financial affairs”. This will allow the nominated individual to make decisions regarding the other person’s home, money and investments. The donor can choose whether they would like to make the use of this power dependent on capacity.

Both types of Lasting Powers of Attorney may be made at the same time if required. They are frequently prepared when a Will is being drafted or updated for future planning.

How does the process work?

Once the particular type of Lasting Power of Attorney has been decided upon, clients are invited to attend a meeting with us at our offices in order to complete the form. 

Once the form is completed it will be sent for registration to the Office of Public Guardian, for them to register and return the forms to us.

We always register the Lasting Powers of Attorney we prepare straight away so that they can be used should they be needed.

How long does it take?

Once the forms are completed, they can be lodged immediately for registration. 

The Office of the Public Guardian has a statutory waiting period of three weeks from the time it sends notification of registration out to appropriate persons. This notification is to provide anyone who is concerned about the application the opportunity to oppose it.
 
Generally the Office of the Public Guardian take around 10-12 weeks to register the forms once we have sent these to them.

Is it expensive?

We can work to a fixed fee. The Office of the Public Guardian charge a fee of £82.00 per Lasting Power of Attorney. Please call or email us privateclient@grantsaw.co.uk for a quotation.

What are the things people should consider before calling?

It is important that a donor thinks carefully about who they wish to have as their Attorneys, as they would be making important decisions on the donor’s behalf. It is a way to ensure that the people the donor trusts, will be able to take importation decisions on their behalf if they become mentally or physically incapable of doing so for themselves.

What if my application is opposed/ disputed?

We have specialist lawyers that can guide you through the process and deal with any Court applications and hearings that are necessary.  We have extensive experience in dealing with the Court of Protection and the Office of the Public Guardian.

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

We are the largest Private Client department in the local area and have five dedicated specialists in the team. As a department, we pride ourselves on providing excellent client service, with a friendly and approachable manner and we are frequently instructed by new clients based on recommendations received from our existing clients. We also hold the Law society accreditation for excellence in Wills and Probate, known as WIQS (Wills and Inheritance Quality Scheme), as well as having a member of Solicitors for the Elderly and an associate member of STEP. These are all demonstrative of the expertise and dedication our lawyers have in making sure our clients receive the best advice possible.

We ensure that a Lasting Power of Attorney is registered promptly and cost effectively.

We also have full disabled access at our Greenwich and Blackheath offices.

Solicitor Firm of the Year

For more information download our LPA brochure here

Meet the Lasting power of attorney team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Warren
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simona Morina
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053521
simona.morina@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk