020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Landlord repossession

FIND OUT MORE

If you are the owner of residential property which is let out to a tenant and you wish to recover possession of your property, then Grant Saw’s litigation team can guide you through the pitfalls and manage the process for you. We have successfully assisted a great many landlords recover their homes or properties whether by agreement with the tenant or through the Court process.

Why (or when) would someone need this service?

A landlord will require this service, if they wish to obtain possession of their rental property which has been let out to tenants under an assured shorthold tenancy agreement.

How does the process work/what are the steps involved?

Subject to certain requirements, a landlord is entitled to seek possession of their property at the conclusion of the fixed term letting period. Tenancies are usually let on either a six month or twelve month contract.

The landlord does not need to seek to rely upon any particular reason (or breach of tenancy) in order to seek possession of the property. Simply that the landlord wants possession of his property back is sufficient.

The first step to obtaining possession of the property is for the landlord to serve notice of his intention to seek possession. This is done by serving what is known as a Section 21 Notice (pursuant to Section 21 of the Housing Act 1988). At least two months clear notice must be provided to the tenant following service of the Section 21 Notice.

There are certain formalities which must be strictly adhered to when preparing and serving the Section 21 Notice. It is quite easy for the notice to be completed inaccurately and if this occurs it would render the notice invalid. For instance, the date by when possession is requested must be carefully considered and accurately recorded within the Notice. We are happy to prepare and serve the Section 21 Notice on the tenant on behalf of the landlord if required.

If a tenant does not vacate after the expiry of the Section 21 Notice, the landlord is entitled to commence residential possession proceedings at court.

Please note, that if the landlord has been in receipt of a deposit payment from the tenant, the Section 21 Notice will only be valid and enforceable if the landlord had registered the deposit with an authorised scheme prior to serving the Notice. In addition to registering the deposit, the landlord should also have provided the tenant with the relevant scheme’s terms and conditions and any prescribed information as required.

Once court proceedings are issued the court will consider the paperwork filed and if it is satisfactory it will usually order that possession be granted to the landlord without the need for the parties attending court for a hearing. Occasionally however the court will list a hearing if it wishes to ask the parties questions concerning the tenancy.

Once an order for possession is provided by the court, the tenant is usually granted a period of 14 days in which to vacate the property. If the tenant does not vacate within this time period, the landlord can apply to the court again to seek the assistance of a court bailiff to evict the tenant.

If the landlord is seeking possession of the property following service of a Section 21 Notice, the most that the landlord will achieve will be to obtain an order from the court for possession as well as payment of a small amount of fixed costs. The landlord will not be entitled to obtain any other order from the court such as for payment of arrears of rent that are owing. It is possible for a landlord to obtain an order for possession and an order that the tenant pay the rent owing. This is set out in our Residential Possession and an Order for payment of arrears of rent article.

How long is the legal process of landord repossessions?

An order for possession can usually be obtained from the court within eight to ten weeks after paperwork is filed at the court.

Is it expensive? What are the likely costs?

We offer a fixed price for acting for residential repossession cases. Please contact us for more information.

What are the things that people should consider before calling?

If a deposit has been taken by a landlord, all formalities concerning the registering of a deposit must have been complied with prior to serving a Section 21 Notice (see above for outline discussion).

It would be useful if you could have to hand, a copy of the tenancy agreement in force as well as a copy of any Section 21 Notice that has already been served when you first contact us.

In addtion to the above and following recent changes to the Landlord repossession process you should also have the following documents ready to provide to your lawyer:

1. Energy Performance Certificate;
2. The Gas Safe Certificate;
3. The “How to rent checklist” that was served on the tenant; and
4. Your selective or HMO licence (if relevant)

Why are Grant Saw the best people for the job?

We have been successfully providing assistance to landlords for many years in recovering possession of their properties.

This is a specialist area and there are many pitfalls. It is best practice to instruct solicitors who have expertise in this subject area, such as Grant Saw Solicitors. A technical error in procedure can lead to months of delay and potentially, wasted costs to landlords.

Meet the Landlord repossession team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Mandy
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk