020 8858 6971 contact us Online Payment work for us

Debt Recovery

FIND OUT MORE

Our debt recovery solicitors act for individuals and businesses and have the experience to recover your money promptly via the most cost-effective solution for you.

Acting swiftly and effectively where there are late paying clients and customers, and keeping on top of this, is crucial for the longevity of a business. Late payments can have serious ramifications for businesses and individuals who are also owed money as it could place them in serious financial difficulty, which could potentially lead to insolvency as a result. .

County Court Claims

It is important to have a strict credit control process in place, but in some cases, formal legal action may be unavoidable. If there has been no payment and no response to your correspondence chasing up the debt, you can issue a County Court Claim. The debt may be taken more seriously when your customer receives a copy of the proceedings from the court and can act as an incentive for them to make payment if they want to avoid spending time and money defending the claim. Additionally, a County Court Judgment could significantly affect their ability to gain credit, which may further incentivise payment being made.

However, it’s important to be aware that issuing proceedings might not prompt the debtor to make payment of the debt and they may ignore the claim. If this proves to be the case, in order to recover payment, you would need to take further action to enforce the judgment.

County Court Judgments

If you succeed in your claim, you will obtain a County Court Judgment. This is an enforceable court order which demands payment of the debt, certain legal costs plus interest. If the judgment debt is not paid within 30 days, it will be registered against the debtor and may have a detrimental effect on their credit rating. Should the debtor continue to refuse to make the payment, enforcement options are available. Please contact one of our legal experts to discuss your options in these circumstances.

Insolvency

You can commence insolvency action against a debtor if the value of the debt is more than £750 for a company and £5,000 if it’s owed by an individual. The first step is to serve a statutory demand, which gives the debtor 21 days to make payment or be faced with a winding-up or bankruptcy petition, depending on whether it’s a company or individual debt. This option is available if the debtor is located in England or Wales and the debt is not disputed.

Our services include:

  • Drafting official debt recovery letters, letters before action, claim form and particulars of claim to issue proceedings, settlement discussions and settlement agreements.
  • Alternative dispute resolution measures.
  • The drafting of trading terms and conditions.
  • Advising on measures to deal with late or non-payers.
  • Enforcing court judgments.
  • Drafting and serving statutory demands.
  • Issuing winding up orders and bankruptcy petitions.

Our debt recovery team is accredited by Lexcel, the legal practice quality mark for client care, compliance and practice management.

For more information, please email litigation@grantsaw.co.uk or contact one of our legal experts on 020 8858 6971.

Meet the Debt Recovery team
Ray Crudgington
Managing Partner
greenwich
02083054224
ray.crudgington@grantsaw.co.uk
Maria Lati
Partner
Head of Residential Property
blackheath
02083054229
maria.lati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mike Clary
Partner
Head of Family
greenwich
02083054237
mike.clary@grantsaw.co.uk
Kalpa Prajapati
Partner
Head of Private Client
blackheath
02083053536
kalpa.prajapati@grantsaw.co.uk
Mario Savvides
Partner
Head of Commercial Property
greenwich
02083053531
mario.savvides@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah-Kate Jackson
Partner
Head of Litigation
greenwich
02083054236
sarah-kate.jackson@grantsaw.co.uk
Adina-Leigh Collins
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053556
adina-leigh.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Aimal Gram
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053524
aimal.gram@grantsaw.co.uk
Aisha Mohammed
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054228
aisha.mohammed@grantsaw.co.uk
Aishat Balogun
Aishat Balogun
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054214
aishat.balogun@grantsaw.co.uk
An Le Tran
Commercial Property
Professional Support Solicitor
greenwich
02083054226
anle.tran@grantsaw.co.uk
Angus Young
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054225
angus.young@grantsaw.co.uk
Atifha Aftab
Atifha Aftab
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054238
atifha.aftab@grantsaw.co.uk
Bimal Kotecha
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053523
bimal.kotecha@grantsaw.co.uk
Charlotte Warren
Charlotte Warren
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054231
charlotte.warren@grantsaw.co.uk
Claire Mac Mahon
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053537
claire.macmahon@grantsaw.co.uk
Deborah Taite
Residential Property
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053542
deborah.taite@grantsaw.co.uk
Emily Pearce
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053526
emily.pearce@grantsaw.co.uk
Georgia Beales
Litigation
Paralegal
greenwich
02083054206
georgia.beales@grantsaw.co.uk
James McKimm
James McKimm
Corporate and Commercial
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054217
james.mckimm@grantsaw.co.uk
Jeremy Brooks
Jeremy Brooks
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083053534
jeremy.brooks@grantsaw.co.uk
Joanna Godden
Notary Public
Notary
greenwich
02083083535
joanna.godden@grantsaw.co.uk
Kim Whitaker
Kim Whitaker
Corporate and Commercial
Head of Corporate and Commercial
greenwich
02083053539
kim.whitaker@grantsaw.co.uk
Lauren Smith
Employment and Family
Paralegal
greenwich
02083053543
lauren.smith@grantsaw.co.uk
Maleeha Iqbal
Residential Property
Licensed Conveyancer
greenwich
02083054232
maleeha.iqbal@grantsaw.co.uk
Mandeep Clair
Family
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054235
mandeep.clair@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Pope
Employment
Consultant Solicitor
greenwich
02083053540
michael.pope@grantsaw.co.uk
Michelle Pinnington
Michelle Pinnington
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054216
michelle.pinnington@grantsaw.co.uk
Noella Gooden
Employment
Solicitor (Australian qualified)
greenwich
02083053543
noella.gooden@grantsaw.co.uk
Raj Waghela
Raj Waghela
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053529
raj.waghela@grantsaw.co.uk
Randeep Thethy
Randeep Thethy
Residential Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054209
randeep.thethy@grantsaw.co.uk
Sarah Conner
Sarah Conner
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054234
sarah.conner@grantsaw.co.uk
Simona Morina
Litigation
Solicitor
greenwich
02083053521
simona.morina@grantsaw.co.uk
Simran Lalli
Simran Lalli
Employment
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054208
simran.lalli@grantsaw.co.uk
Susan Collins
Commercial Property
Solicitor
greenwich
02083054200
susan.collins@grantsaw.co.uk
Tatiana Zenina
Tatiana Zenina
Private Client
Solicitor
blackheath
02083054239
tatiana.zenina@grantsaw.co.uk
Trisha Djemal
Trisha Djemal
Residential Property
Consultant Solicitor
blackheath
02083053546
trisha.djemal@grantsaw.co.uk
Tyrone Grant
Residential Property
Head of Leasehold Enfranchisement
blackheath
02083053522
tyrone.grant@grantsaw.co.uk
Denise
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jamie
Support Staff
Head of IT
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Jayne Lye
Support Staff
Office Manager
greenwich
02083054204
jayne.lye@grantsaw.co.uk
Kasia
Accounts Staff
greenwich
02088586971
enquiries@grantsaw.co.uk
Michael Tobin
Michael Tobin
Support Staff
Marketing and Business Development Manager
greenwich
02083053550
michael.tobin@grantsaw.co.uk
Laura Danquah
Compliance Manager
greenwich
02083054222
laura.danquah@grantsaw.co.uk
Sue Holness
Support Staff
Customer Services
greenwich
02083054221
sue.holness@grantsaw.co.uk